Allergy Free Halloween Candy

By Heather Legg

It’s only a few days away – the big candy day of Halloween. Many schools will be having Halloween parties and festivals this weekend in addition to trick or treating. Candy will be everywhere. Most of us know what is safe for our allergy kids, but you never know when something new to us will pop up. In a post from a week or so ago, I mentioned a friend calling about Swedish Fish. She is a seasoned allergy mom but was unsure about this candy, so she did just the right thing – she called the number on the back of the candy to make sure it was safe. So if you are not sure – call or refrain from giving it to your child.

Here is just a partial list of some safe candies without the big allergens (I’ve included the more mainstream candies, but for a full list with all the details, see – thank you Alison for all your hard work on this list!). You may want to go to her site and print out the list for Halloween as you sort through candy. Also, buy a bag or two of your child’s favorite from the list to have ready to swap out after trick or treating. Here are some good safe ones:

Airheads – Whistle pops and Airheads Pops contain none of the top 8 allergens, the other Airheads products do contains soybean oil and wheat  products, but no peanuts, nuts, eggs, or milk in any.

Sour Patch Kids – free of the top 8 allergens
Swedish Fish – free of the top 8 allergens
Sour Patch Xploderz – contains none of the top 8 but package states “Manufactured in a facility that handles peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, soy and wheat.”

Smarties – contains none of the top 8 allergens

Hershey’s – Always a good one for labeling. Here are just some of their many products:
Kit Kat – free of tree nuts, made in a facility that also processes peanuts
Twizzlers – free of tree nuts, egg, milk and peanuts; contains wheat/gluten, soy
Hershey’s chocolate bars – free of tree nuts, wheat/gluten, egg peanuts; contains milk and soy; manufactured on the same equipement that processes almonds.
Jolly Ranchers – contains none of the top 8

Jelly Belly Jelly Beans – contains none of the top 8

Mars – Many “may contain…” statements, so be careful
M&M’s plain – may contain peanuts
M&M’s Peanut – may contain almonds
3 Musketeers – May contain peanuts
Dove – free of the wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, eggs

Wonka – Pretty safe candy, esp for the peanut and tree nut crowd. Nerds and Regular Sweetarts contain none of the top 8.

Again, go to for a great, thorough listing. Not a bad one to have around year round. Thanks again, Alison!


Once charged timepieces can run for very long periods without exposure to light.
Some of the more popular within the range would be
the white g shock dw6900 and also the g shock dw6900 1v which may be the classic
black one. It posseses an awesome luminous light effect, which helps it
be so easy to read time in all light conditions.

October 22nd, 2013 | 6:32 pm

Step 1: Detach the coffee water reservoir from the brewer then fill it up with
one section of water and one portion of white vinegar.
This doesn’t just mean which you’re don’t
going to bother about disposable paper filters, however,
you’re planning to enjoy better tasting coffee.
I must state that I think personally the brewing temperature should be just over the 200 degree mark for the “perfect” flavor
to get extracted, however the Cuisinart does a solid job.

October 25th, 2013 | 4:36 pm

For comparison, a hair on your head is about 80 microns.
Keep this plant away from pets and small children, as it is toxic if eaten.
It contains some robust pre-filter that makes purifying extra efficient.

October 26th, 2013 | 1:14 pm
Leave a Reply